Font Size


  1. HOME
  2. Information
  3. News
  4. News

Sophia Agrees to Merge with Four Catholic School Corporations

On March 27, 2015, Sophia School Corporation (Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo; Chancellor: Toshiaki Koso), which runs Sophia University, concluded a merger agreement with four Catholic school corporations that run private junior and senior high schools: Eiko Gakuen School Corporation (Kamakura City, Kanagawa; Chancellor: Motoi Kayaba), Rokko Gakuin School Corporation (Kobe City, Hyogo; Chancellor: Hiromasa Akamatsu), Hiroshima Gakuin School Corporation (Hiroshima City, Hiroshima; Chancellor: Lee Sung-il) and Taisei Gakuen School Corporation (Fukuoka City, Fukuoka; Chancellor: Hajime Masui).

The corporate headquarters of Sophia School Corporation (Jochi Gakuin) will be established on April 1, 2016, and the other four school corporations will be disbanded.

The merger agreement was reached following consultations that began on October 23, 2014. From now on, each school corporation will take the steps needed to make applications for merger approval to the relevant government agencies.

Following the merger, the four junior and senior high schools (Eiko Gakuen Junior and Senior High School, Rokko Junior/Senior High School, Hiroshima Gakuin Junior and Senior High School, and Sophia Fukuoka Junior-Senior High School) will not become affiliated schools of Sophia University but will retain their educational principles and financial management, taking into consideration their regional characteristics and unique school backgrounds.

Based on the common foundation of the Society of Jesus, a Catholic religious order, the five school corporations aim to deepen Jesuit educational ideals, establish a wide educational network, and foster future generations through this merger.


Page Top