Font Size


  1. HOME
  2. Information
  3. News
  4. News

The Merger Agreement of Five Incorporated Educational Institutions Legally Approved on Oct 15, 2015

Five incorporated educational institutions agreed to merge as Sophia School Corporation as of April 1, 2016

The merger agreement between Sophia School Corporation (Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo; Chancellor: Toshiaki Koso), which runs Sophia University, Eiko Gakuen School Corporation (Kamakura City, Kanagawa; Chancellor: Motoi Kayaba), Rokko Gakuin School Corporation (Kobe City, Hyogo; Chancellor: Hiromasa Akamatsu), Hiroshima Gakuin School Corporation (Hiroshima City, Hiroshima; Chancellor: Lee Sung-il) and Taisei Gakuen School Corporation (Fukuoka City, Fukuoka; Chancellor: Hajime Masui) as of April 1, 2016, was approved by Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology on Oct 15, 2015.

On Oct 23, 2014, among five incorporated educational institutions the initiation of merger agreement was signed on October 23, 2014, and the agreement was signed on March 27, 2015. By incorporated merger being approved by Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, as of April 1, 2016 new Sophia Corporation will be established.

However for middle and high school institutions will not become affiliated to Sophia University. Also considering the background and locality, an each institution will continue to reflect individual educational policies as well as to operate as the financially independent corporations. By merger, close linkage between the university and middle/high school institutions will be made possible, the new corporation will aim “to deepen education provided by Jesus Society” “building the wide educational network” and “cultivating the leaders for the next generation”.


Page Top